About Us

Big Brothers Big Sisters (BBBS) provides one-to-one mentors for children facing adversity in their personal, social, and academic lives. Our mission is to provide children facing adversity with strong and enduring, professionally supported one-to-one relationships that change their lives for the better, forever! Our measurable goals are focused in areas that have a positive impact in a child’s life: increased self-confidence, improved academic performance, increased interest in learning, and stronger, positive relationships with humankind.

Bill Mashaw with a group of Littles circa 1980's

Our agency was founded in Durango in 1984 by local citizens who wanted to improve the lives of at-risk youth in Southwest Colorado. They chartered a Big Brothers Big Sisters agency and adopted the national organization’s successful one-to-one mentoring model with its 100+ year history and proven track record of helping at-risk youth move beyond their circumstances to reach their potential. In 2000, an office was opened in Pagosa Springs to better serve children in that area. Our one-to-one mentoring is provided via our traditional Community-Based Mentoring (CBM) program and our School-Based Mentoring (SBM) program. In 2013, we added a High School Bigs program to engage high school students as mentors for older grade elementary and middle school students.

In 2018 we are serving Durango, Bayfield, Ignacio, and Pagosa Springs.

La Plata County Headquarters Office


Big Brother Big Sisters of Southwest Colorado
175 Mercado St. Suite 109
Durango, CO 81301

Mailing Address:

Big Brothers Big Sisters of Southwest Colorado
PO Box 2154
Durango, CO 81302
970-247-3720 – phone
970-385-8491 – fax
info@bbig.org – email

Staff: La Plata County Headquarters Office

  • Susan Williams – Program Development Manager
  • 970-247-3720
  • susan@bbig.org

  • Gina Carrasco-Songer – Program Manager
  • 970.759.4096
  • gina@bbig.org

Big Brothers Big Sisters of Southwest Colorado –
Board Members

    • Joan Heil, President
    • Josh Mack Vice President
    • Ryan Brungard, Secretary
    • Alex Lemmel, Treasurer
    • Tristen Musselman
    • Geno Trujillo
    • Chris Griffith
    • Caren Truske
    • Charles Peterson